Lifestyle

ATOMIC BLONDE

Atomic Blonde was definitely one of my favorite movies of 2017.

In a nutshell: Lorraine Broughton, an MI6 agent played by Charlize Theron, is sent to Berlin a few days before the fall of the wall in order to find a lost list of secret agents.

Many reasons beyond the fact that the movie was clever and wildly entertaining made me fall in love with Atomic Blonde.

Firstly, it uses all the traditional codes of the spy movie without the protagonist’s femininity ever getting in the way. On the contrary, femininity is only ever used as a means to add a smart, witty twist to said codes.

The character played by Charlize Theron has no story, no specific feature that might make her sympathetic to the audience and offers no way for us to relate or identify with her; an emotional mechanism that is all too common in cinema.

For once, a woman fights, gets a black eye, bruised lips, which are not hidden by makeup but on full display, and not because she’s an abused housewife but because it’s her job. Likewise, she goes on a mission – into combat – not to avenge the loss of a child or a husband but just because that’s the job she chose.

I am fond of the idea that she uses fighting techniques that would be suitable and practical for a woman – and not a man – in real life, an alteration which apparently required a lot of adapting and lengthy training for the combat scenes.

I like that fact that she doesn’t fall hopelessly in love on her mission and that instead of sleeping with a man… she sleeps with a woman, without it allowing us to pigeonhole her sexuality.

When the movie came out, Charlize Theron explained how difficult it had been to produce a movie around a woman hero. The Summer of 2017 had everyone talking about how girl power was returning through Hollywood movies, and many compared Wonder Woman and Atomic Blonde as proofs of the latter. To be perfectly honest, though, the comparison is not a difficult one: Atomic Blonde is simply… atomic.

The movie’s equally atomic soundtrack brings together gems of the 80’s New Wave movement. You cannot help but dive headfirst into the atmosphere of the decade.

Atomic Blonde was also the classiest film of 2017. The image is beautiful and Theron’s outfits divine. They themselves aren’t that complicated – mainly black and white – but perfectly assembled with cutting contrasts, Dior having largely contributed to most costumes. The outfits were specially conceived with the combat scenes in mind for added realism. Indeed, they consist of supple, stretchy materials instead of leather, which, although it might be what we associate spies with, is rather too rigid for the job.

The show-stealer is undeniably her pair of flat-heeled thigh-high boots.

Given that I have neither the same stature nor the same charisma as Charlize Theron, I will not inflict upon you a failed replica of Lorraine Broughton. It would be a true mistake.

However…

… I might just own a pair of thigh-high boots myself.

I inspire myself, without copying, as that would be the opposite of finding and owning your own style.

I thus give you Atomic Brunette 😉

 

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Stuart Weitzman boots – Helmut Lang leggings – Massimo Duti coat – Eric Bompard jumper – Agnelle gloves – Valentino handbag – Chanel sunglasses

you may also like

No Comments

Lifestyle

ATOMIC BLONDE

Atomic Blonde, l’un de mes films préférés de 2017.

En résumé : un agent secret du MI6, Lorraine Broughton interprétée par Charlize Theron, est envoyé à Berlin quelques jours avant la chute du mur, afin de retrouver une liste d’agents secrets malencontreusement égarée.

Au-delà du caractère suprêmement divertissant et malin du film, j’ai adoré Atomic Blonde pour mille raisons.

La première est qu’Atomic Blonde reprend tous les codes du film d’espionnage pour les conjuguer au féminin, voire les dévoyer de manière intelligente.

Le personnage interprété par Charlize Theron, Lorraine Broughton, n’a pas d’histoire, n’est pas particulièrement sympathique et n’offre aucun angle auquel le spectateur puisse s’accrocher pour s’identifier à elle ou la trouver plaisante, selon des mécaniques émotionnelles bien connues au cinéma.

Pour une fois, une femme se bat, a des coquards aux yeux et les lèvres tuméfiées (ce qui ne nous est nullement épargné) parce que c’est son boulot, et non pas parce qu’elle est une femme battue. De la même manière, elle part en mission – en guerre presque – non pas pour venger la perte d’un enfant, d’un époux, mais une fois encore parce que c’est son job.

J’aime l’idée qu’elle se batte selon des techniques qui seraient adaptées à une femme – et non à un homme, ce qui a visiblement supposé un long travail d’adaptation et d’entrainement lors de la préparation des scènes de combat du film.

J’aime l’idée qu’elle ne tombe pas amoureuse en cours de mission et qu’au lieu de faire l’amour avec un homme, ce soit… avec une femme, sans pour autant que cela l’enferme plus avant dans un certain type de sexualité.

Charlize Theron expliquait lors de la sortie du film combien il avait été difficile de monter le film sur la seule base d’un héros féminin. On a beaucoup glosé lors de l’été 2017 sur le pouvoir féminin qui réinvestissait les films hollywoodiens, en comparant Wonder Woman et Atomic Blonde. Honnêtement, il n’y a aucune comparaison à faire, Atomic Blonde est tout simplement… atomique.

La bande-son est tout aussi atomique, réunissant des bijoux musicaux de la New Wave des années 80.

Atomic Blonde, c’est aussi le film le plus stylé de 2017. La photo est sublime et les tenues de Charlize Theron plus encore. Les tenues sont en général assez simples finalement – en noir et blanc principalement, mais de très belle facture – Dior notamment ayant largement contribué aux costumes. Les tenues ont été adaptées aux scènes de combat pour plus de réalisme : des pièces souples, élastiques et assez peu de cuir là où l’on en attendrait beaucoup sur une espionne.

La pièce phare du film reste la paire de cuissardes, à talons plats et hauts.

Comme je n’ai ni la stature ni le charisme de Charlize Theron, je ne vous infligerai certes pas une réplique de Lorraine Broughton. Et ce serait d’ailleurs une bien belle erreur.

Mais, mais, mais…

… il se trouve que j’ai une paire de cuissardes.

S’inspirer, oui. Copier, non. Ce serait justement le contraire de l’appropriation de son propre style.

Voici donc Atomic Brune 😉

 

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Marquis Paris - 2018 - Graffitis

Cuissardes Stuart Weitzman – Leggings Helmut Lang – Manteau Massimo Duti – Pull Eric Bompard – Gants Agnelle – Sac Valentino – Lunettes de soleil Chanel

you may also like

Pas de commentaire